reviews

Below are actual, unsolicited reviews from our most recent guests. You can see these reviews, and many more, by clicking on the VRBO icon below.

HomeAway Property

 

vrbo 5-stars

Magical

If you are in need of a “bearable lightness of being” staying at Jackrabbit Wash will do the trick. We had all sorts of intentions prior to arrival, like taking a hike in the park, visiting the Integretron, and checking out Pappy & Harriet’s for some live music. Instead, we did nothing, and I can only blame the breathtaking architecture of Aaron’s home, seeing the Milky Way for the first time, and the peace that creeps into your bones while staying at JRW. Is it just our insatiable appetite that makes us long for more of the same? Whatever the reason, five nights was not enough. So, for those of you contemplating a visit, I can only say, “Do It”! As for us, next year it will be ten.

by Kathy L.

Date of Stay: 7/19/15;  Date of Review: 7/28/15

 

vrbo 5-starsAmazing Desert Retreat

We were looking for a peaceful retreat from our busy everyday lives and we found it at Jackrabbit Wash! The house is architecturally stunning and the property was secluded and quiet. The owner is extremely well organized, and everything was exactly as he described. During our stay he was quick to respond to any of our questions, but he did not impose upon our privacy. The area is a great place for taking photos and despite the relative seclusion, there are many amenities close by. We visited in April and unfortunately the pool was not heated. So while we enjoyed the deck area, it would have been great to go for a swim. Ultimately this did not detract from our enjoyment, as we spent time preparing meals in the incredible kitchen, looking at the stars from the deck, and relaxing with some music from the vast CD collection. If you are looking to de-stress and shut the world out, this is the place to do it. We will definitely be back.

by T and K

Date of Stay: 4/16/15;  Date of Review: 5/16/15

 

vrbo 5-stars Amazing Space–Hidden Gem, Generous Owner

I’d like to think this is a well guarded secret on VRBO as the space is amazing–immaculately built and located in a peaceful stretch of land in the desert.  The home is modern and the amenities and accommodations are above and beyond.  The location is not far from just a couple other neighbors, but you feel remotely located because of the quiet and open land.

by J and Y

Date of Stay: 4/3/15;  Date of Review: 4/8/15

 

vrbo 5-stars Amazing Home, Beautiful Setting !

One of the best places we have ever stayed. Gorgeous home, excellent host, very private & serene, we will definitely return.

by Laura

Date of Stay: 3/12/15;  Date of Review: 3/24/15

 

vrbo 5-stars Far Exceeded Expectations

I don’t know what I could write that other reviewers haven’t already written!
Jackrabbit Wash is the perfect high desert retreat. And Aaron is a wonderful owner. The airline cancelled and rescheduled my flight; Aaron was terrific and accommodating about the change in arrival day and time.   In fact, from my first inquiry months ago and throughout my stay, Aaron was a helpful, cheerful, unimposing owner
Jackrabbit Wash is one of those rare homes that is even better in person than the stunning photographs show.
Modern in this case means warm, welcoming and integrated into the high desert environment. The clean, elegant lines of this architectural treasure give the home the appearance of soaring on the hillside. The purity of the home’s design both inside and out and long, cool lap pool is calming and simply, stunningly beautiful.
One of my favorite memories is the way the floor to ceiling walls of windows reflected the interior at night and the landscape during the day, evoking a feeling of spaciousness and dissolving the transition between outside to inside. The alternating natural colors of stone “shingles” offered a gentle visual rhythm, while the water from the lap pool reflected in softly-lit ripples on the ceiling during the day. I found the home equisitely peaceful.
I’d love to come back when outside temps are more conducive to swimming in the lap pool, but other reviewers are right about the starry skies.  I was fortunate to be here during a full moon. Simply incredible.
Jackrabbit Wash reminds me of a poem by Li Po about mountains: “The birds have vanished in the sky, and now the last cloud drains away. We sit together, the mountain and I until only the mountain remains.” One could replace “high desert” for the word “mountain” and understand what staying at Jackrabbit Wash is like.

by Dave and Erin O.

Date of Stay: 1/2/15;  Date of Review: 1/9/15

 

vrbo 5-stars A Gem in Joshua Tree

Aaron’s amazing home took our breath away. Everything he designed and built into this property is perfect in form and function. We very much appreciated his authenticity and creative development of the spaces at Jackrabbit Wash. This house is respectful to the environment. It is a glorious gem in itself, yet it unobtrusively highlights everything from the lay of the desert land to the mountains of Joshua Tree National Park, from the sunrises and sunsets to the moon and stars at night. It was hard to decide what we liked most…..curling up in front of the fireplace or lounging on the chaises outside under the stars. Simply walking in the door inspires one to take a deep breath and relax. Warm, exciting to the eye, full of interest, yet free of clutter that detracts from good design. We felt at home immediately. The well-appointed kitchen was beckoning us, so we chose to stay in and cook rather than eat out. Jackrabbit Wash was also a perfect base camp for us to explore the 4WD trails in JT National Park. Aaron was a fabulous host, always available if needed, yet respectful of our privacy leaving us to enjoy our time at Jackrabbit Wash. We hope to come back again sometime soon, especially when the weather is warm enough for an evening swim in the pool. Jackrabbit Wash will always be our first choice when booking some R&R in Joshua Tree.

by Dacia S.

Date of Stay: 11/6/14;  Date of Review: 11/14/14

 

vrbo 5-stars The Most Relaxing Weekend Getaway You’ll Ever Have.

This house was great. Everything was clean and modern. It came with everything. All you needed to bring was some clothes, hiking shoes and a swimsuit. Also, if you’re like me, you’d bring some groceries and do all your cooking in the house. The first night, my GF and I baked some salmon and steamed some veggies and had a romantic candlelit dinner on the dinning table. Then we went outside, turned off all the lights and did some stargazing. You can actually see all the stars and the milky way in the sky . It was incredible.
The next day, we went hiking at Joshua Tree, which was about a 10 min drive to the entrance, then another 25 minute drive deep into the national park. Such a beautiful sight. After hiking, we went back and grilled some burgers on the outside grill, while the GF hung out on the “floaties” in the pool.
Early next morning, we went hiking on this hill next to the house, where you can see the entire neighborhood.
We were sad to go that Sunday morning, but we definitely enjoyed our stay and Aaron was a wonderful host.
Definitely will be going back next spring/summer.

by Jesse Cruz

Date of Stay: 10/17/14;  Date of Review: 10/29/14

 

vrbo 5-stars Wow !! Everything We Hoped it Would Be !!

Jackrabbit Wash was a perfect choice for our stay in the High Desert.
Aaron and his assistant Char who checked us in were the Perfect Hosts.. friendly,informative but not intrusive, all questions were answered promptly and they were a pleasure to deal with.
The Home has everything you could wish for and more besides, it exceeded our expectations beyond anything we could have hoped for.
We would plan my next Vacation to California around staying here again as it is too good a place to miss out of an itinerary…to us it is an AMAZING place to have the opportunity to experience, and if you are in this area you should not miss the chance to stay here.

by Avidtraveler

Date of Stay: 10/18/14;  Date of Review: 10/30/14